Results of the Camera Grand Prix 2011

Results of the Camera Grand Prix 2011

MADRID, 26/05/2011

The Camera Grand Prix, held since 1984, is an extremely prestigious award where winners are selected through an open vote by a 57 member selection panel made up of the members of the Camera Journal Press Club of Japan, top editorial staff of the member publications, academic experts, technical writers, professional photographers, and TIPA as a special member of the CJPC. The Camera Grand Prix Awards are held annually under the sponsorship of the Camera Journal Press Club (CJPC), a group of photography writers from the top 11 photo and camera magazines, which was founded in Japan in 1963.

The Camera GP2011 Camera of the Year went to the PENTAX 645D that was selected from the172 new cameras introduced into Japan from 1 April 2010 to 31 March 2011.

In addition to Camera of the Year, the group also selected winners in three different categories: the Readers Award, with voting by magazine readers; the Editors Award, a selection by professional writers from all photographic and imaging products; and the Lens of the Year, a new award established this year.

Readers Award – Nikon D7000
Editors Award – Fujifilm FinePix X100 / Epson MAXART PX-5V
Lens of the Year – Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD Model B008

The three cameras awarded by the CJPC also received TIPA Awards:

Best DSLR Professional – PENTAX 645D
Best Premium Camera – Fujifilm FinePix X100
Best DSLR Advanced – Nikon D7000

The Camera GP awards ceremony will be held in Tokyo on 1 June 2011. Thomas Gerwers, the Chairman of TIPA, will attend the ceremony.

CJPC Press Release: