TIPA and the CJPC Camera Grand Prix Awards

TIPA and the CJPC Camera Grand Prix Awards

Tokyo, Japan: 31 May 2019

The Camera Grand Prix Awards are presented by the Camera Journal Press Club (CJPC, Japan), a group of representatives from magazines or websites specializing in photos and cameras. CJPC, established in September 1963, has 10 members from the media as of April 2019. The selection committee, organized under CJPC’s Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee, deliberates and selects the best products for the four awards from among those introduced into the market during the previous fiscal year (from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019).

The selection committee is comprised of CJPC members, chief editors (or other representatives) of CJPC member publications, external members entrusted by Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee, and other special members such as academic experts, technical writers, professional photographers, and representatives from photo-related organizations.

TIPA, the Technical Image Press Association, an association of photo and imaging-related magazines, also participates in the vote, just as CJPC representatives attend the TIPA General Assembly and have voting privileges in the TIPA World Awards process.


Roland Franken, a member of the TIPA Board and Technical Committee, attended and addressed the CJPC awards gathering. Said Franken, “TIPA was founded in 1991 and since then has developed from a European association to a global organization with 30 member magazines. We are very happy and proud of the partnership and exchange with CJPC. Our colleagues from CJPC join us for the TIPA annual General Assembly and participate in the voting for the TIPA World Awards, which were presented last week here in Tokyo. In return TIPA contributes with a vote in the CJPC Grand Prix awards process.

“It is the mission of TIPA magazines and our colleagues from CJPC members to inform and encourage photo enthusiasts to follow their passion of photography with the best possible tools. In this sense both awards help and encourage consumers on all levels to make the best choices for their equipment. It is our pleasure to offer congratulations to the well-deserved winners of the Camera Grand Prix Awards.”

CJPC 2019 Award Recipients

Camera Grand Prix “Camera of the Year” is granted to a still camera recognised as the best of all released during the period: this year’s award recipient is the Panasonic LUMIX SR1. “Lens of the Year” is awarded to the best lens launched in the Japanese market: the Sony FE 24mm F1.4 GM garnered the honours in that category. The “Readers Award,” determined by general camera users’ vote on a dedicated website, went to the Olympus OM-D E-M1X. In addition, CJPC members gave an “Editors Award” to a camera or another form of photography related product, excluding other category winners, to the RICOH GR III camera and Tamron’s 28-75mm F/2.8 Di III RXD lens.